The History Quill Book Club is a book discovery service that advertises historical fiction books and related products to readers. This advertising consists of paid promotions and affiliate links, as well as our own products. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Dark Horizon

Liz Harris

Category: Romance

Oxfordshire, 1919. The instant that Lily Brown and Robert Linford set eyes on each other, they fall in love. But Robert’s father, Joseph, is determined to rid his family of his new daughter-in-law, convinced she is a gold-digger and that his son’s feelings are a youthful infatuation. As the young couple are torn apart, the Linford family is told a lie that will have devastating consequences for years to come.

The Dark Horizon, Book 1 of The Linford Series, is a sweeping saga set between the wars.

Oxfordshire, 1919.

The instant that Lily Brown and Robert Linford set eyes on each other, they fall in love. The instant that Robert’s father, Joseph, chairman of the family’s successful building company, sets eyes on Lily, he feels a deep distrust of her.

Convinced that his new daughter-in-law is a gold-digger, and that Robert’s feelings are a youthful infatuation he’d come to regret, Joseph resolves to do whatever it takes to rid his family of Lily.

As the young couple are torn apart, the Linford family is told a lie that will have devastating consequences for years to come.

“This page-turning family drama has been carefully researched and brought to life by the details that capture the atmosphere and time period.” (Charlotte Betts)

The Dark Horizon is perfect for readers of The Thorn Birds and the Cazalet Chronicles, and the novels of Fiona Valpy and Santa Montefiore.