The History Quill Book Club is a book discovery service that advertises historical fiction books and related products to readers. This advertising consists of paid promotions and affiliate links, as well as our own products. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Water Gypsy

Kay Seeley

Category: Romance

The story of a girl from the boats who falls in love, gets accused of murder and persecuted through the prejudice of Victorian society. A story of love and loss, passion, injustice and ultimate redemption. Historical romance at its best. If you like Catherine Cookson, you’ll love The Water Gypsy. Finalist in The Wishing Shelf Awards.

Driven by hunger, Tilly Thompson, a girl from the canal, steals a pie from the terrace of the Imperial Hotel, Athelstone.

The intervention of Captain Charles Thackery saves her from prison. The Captain’s continued interest in Tilly stirs up jealousy and hatred among the hotel staff, especially Freddie, the stable boy who harbours desires of his own.

Freddie’s pursuit leads Tilly into far greater danger than she ever imagined. Can she escape the prejudice, persecution and hypocrisy of Victorian Society, leave her past behind and find true happiness? This is a story of love and loss, passion and injustice – and ultimate redemption. Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson.

You might also like…

Pin It on Pinterest

Our book files are protected by digital watermarking. This means every book file contains unique visible and invisible watermarks that link it to the user who downloaded it, so it can be traced back to them if it is shared illegally.